RRGwrites

On life…and learning

What If We Fail…

with 2 comments

India Wold Cup Team

India meets Australia tomorrow – the semi-final of ICC World Cup 2015. The game we all have been waiting for… a game in which billions of Indians all over the world don’t want Dhoni and men to fail… a game, where victory is being treated like a need, where failure isn’t an option.

I am feeling quite restless. What if we fail tomorrow? What if the journey of the Indian team’s world cup ends tomorrow? The same team, which fared extremely poorly down under in last 4 months and which almost has risen like a Phoenix in last 7 matches of this tournament. What if they lose now…

In this hour of my restlessness, I find solace and hope in the words of a very old advertisement I had read. It was by Bajaj Auto, and if I recall right, was a campaign for the motorcycle brand ‘Bajaj Caliber.’ I read it long, long ago, loved it and noted it in my diary. It has, since then, helped me sail through some of my own tough moments;

What are we going to do when we fail?

When we find the wrong kind of tears,

running down our cheeks.

When we look at our Gods

and see mortals instead.

When the sports page

reads like an obituary.

When we know all others are

celebrating our grief.

What are we going to do when we fail?

We’re going to look up from our toes.

And into the sun. Without flinching.

We’re going to walk out there alone.

Again.

Grit our teeth.

Take guard.

And wait for the next ball.

Like a true fan, I too would love India to win tomorrow. But more than that, I would love the game of cricket to win, the game to stay belonged to the gentlemen, where we are allowed to fail at time… and not crucified for it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m feeling the same. Whatever happens tomorrow, I’ll be proud of the way our team played and would like to expect similar maturity from other fans..
    I also recollect how we exchanged multiple messages during 2011 semi final against Pakistan. May the best team (India) win..
    #Bleedblue

    Umang

    March 25, 2015 at 10:08 PM


Leave a Reply

