RRGwrites

On life…and learning

Abba…

leave a comment »

Abba jee!” I heard my friend’s five-year old daughter calling him today; we were speaking over phone and he was telling me fascinating stories about how fast kids grow. As a father of a 2-month old, I couldn’t agree any less. Yet, what stayed in my mind, and heart, was the word, ‘Abba’

dear_abbaFrom the time I remember, I always addressed my father as ‘Baba’; while Daddy’s, Dad’s and Papa’s were the most commonly used terms in family, friends’ circles and society at large; no one of my generation that I knew addressed their father as Baba. An occasional Babu jee or Pita jee could still be heard, but the numbers were too far in between, and surely none of these kids came from the convent-educated elite and bourgeois class!

To me, ‘Baba’ was sweet and personal. And to my father, it meant the world… the very sound of the word was pleasant to his ears, so he would say…

All these memories came back to me today, when I heard my friend’s daughter addressing him in the most affectionate manner… Abba

I am reminded of something I read long ago, in Thomas Smail’s book – The Forgotten Father –

“Abba is not Hebrew, the language of liturgy, but Aramaic, the language of home and everyday life… We need to be wary of the suggestion… that the correct translation of Abba is ‘Daddy.’ Abba is the intimate word of a family circle where that obedient reverence was at the heart of the relationship, whereas Daddy is the familiar word of a family circle from which all thoughts of reverence and obedience have largely disappeared… The best English translation of Abba is simply ‘Dear Father’.”

 Does this strike a chord with you?

____________________________________________

Image-credit: divineviewpoint.com

Written by RRGwrites

August 1, 2014 at 10:43 PM

Leave a Reply

