RRGwrites

On life…and learning

Connect Over LinkedIn – Only With A Reason…

with 4 comments

Connect For A ReasonEveryday, I receive over a dozen connection-invites over LinkedIn. I did a check today – in the last 20 days, only 2 of the connection requests actually came with a real request or a note, stating their reasons to connect with me. Awfully small percentage, isn’t it?

This trend was under my observation for some good time now… and I wanted a solution. So, about a month ago, I clearly defined my thoughts under my profile’s section on ‘Advice For Contacting…’, outlining thus; “If you wish to connect with me and are sending an invite, please do share the reasons for connecting with me; if we share something in common or there’s something to build upon. I would not treat LinkedIn as a ‘friend’s request’ platform. Thank you.”

Yet, no avail! Such blind requests continue to pour in even as this goes into publication…

If you are on this professional network, I am sure you too receive similar requests… And I can safely hedge that the stats in your case won’t be much different. And that certainly isn’t professional by any yardstick. It is quite akin, I would say, to turning up in a formal interview attired in distressed denims!

Simple thought – if you wish to connect with someone over LinkedIn you already don’t know in real life, please state the reasons for connecting. Everyone’s reason to connect may differ – it may be asking for a job, asking for an advice or help, or simply because there is any other common interest area between you two – it will help the real cause of networking.

I am sure, if you were to go back to your LinkedIn contacts and do a random check, you would locate several contacts with whom we connected for no reason, and those who haven’t really ‘connected’ after connecting initially over LinkedIn! Quite naturally, such a connection would have made no positive difference to each other.

That not what LinkedIn was made for, if I recall it right!

Do you agree?

_____________________________________________

Image-credit: linkedstrategies.com

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Definitely no!!, As a recruiter It is very important for people like us to network. Not every time I send a request I have a reason, sometimes its only about networking.

    Neeti Pathak

    July 23, 2014 at 10:54 AM

    • Hi Neeti, you are right, networking itself is a valid reason, however, one must state so upfront; I have also written that valid reason could be something that you wish to build upon – you are saying the same.
      Writing a sentence or two about the purpose of connecting makes it appear clearer at the outset.

      RRGwrites

      July 23, 2014 at 3:53 PM

  2. Very well said Rishi sir………i feel initially you we like people sending us invites but eventually it only increases our connections ( where most of them are of no use). And like it says ” Anytime Quantity cannot overpower Quality”. So take into consideration the rest but keep the Best.

    Rajeev Shastri

    July 24, 2014 at 12:53 PM

    • Agree, Rajeev. Connections should be made with a reason, for a reason.

      RRGwrites

      July 24, 2014 at 1:26 PM


Leave a Reply

