RRGwrites

On life…and learning

Do You Work On Your Strengths?

leave a comment »

Almost every time I meet team leaders and their teams, senior or junior management or the famous middle management teams, I hear them wanting to work upon their weaknesses. They are all so convinced that working upon their weaknesses is the best approach towards success and improvement…

I am bemused! What about working upon your own strengths? Do you even know what are your own strengths? Do team leaders know their teammates’ strengths…?

RRGwrites

I have been a big proponent of following my strengths and bettering them year after year, than only focusing on what my weaknesses are. Not that I do not work on my development areas, it is just that I focus more on my strengths – and believe you me, it pays.

strengths-vs-weaknessesToday, I am writing this blog to share with you what Marcus Buckingham, a British-American bestselling author has been saying. A key promoter of ‘Strengths’, he has written extensively on this subject, basing his writing on far-reaching survey data from interviews with employees working all over the world. He has been stressing that people will get the best results by making the most of their strengths rather than by putting too much emphasis on weaknesses.

As an ardent student of leadership, I have been following his work for a while. And I must tell you; quite a lot…

View original post 863 more words

Written by RRGwrites

July 18, 2014 at 10:39 AM

Posted in Leadership

Leave a Reply

