RRGwrites

On life…and learning

An All New Meaning To The Fathers’ Day…

with 8 comments

This Fathers’ Day has come with an all new meaning for me; I have become a father myself. My son, Rajvir, was born on June 6. Life has changed in last ten days and how! And the world of becoming a father has dawned upon me…

All these years of my life, I merrily played the role of being my father’s son. A much loved son, who was given everything he asked for, and more… one who was pampered and cared for… one, who was blessed… So naturally, every Fathers’ Day would come as an excuse for me to send him loads of gifts, coupled with an assurance of always following what he taught me and being by his side. Baba, as I would address my father, was and is an inspiration to me; I learnt many things from him. In fact, on the occasion of last Fathers’ day, I wrote about the 5 life lessons that I learnt from my father.

Two Fathers Two SonsThat said, this Fathers’ day, I am rather overwhelmed! Life has changed dramatically – Baba is not there with me AND Rajvir has come in my life. Today, I am both – a son and a father…

Generally, I am good with words, never struggled with them… However, since my son is born, I am grappling for right words to narrate the experience… Many of friends, family members and others ask me – how did it feel to see him being born or that how does it feel to be a father, et al. I am short of words, really. It was a strange emotion to witness the child-birth; nothing short of a miracle! In fact, I confided in a friend a few days ago, If you want to make any atheist believe in God’s existence, howsoever ardent non-believer he is, make him witness a baby being born; he will start believing in His creations…” 

While I am still pleasantly surprised by how great it feels to belong to the category of fathers, I miss my father terribly. What would I say to my father on this Fathers’ Day? I just hope as Rajvir was getting ready to commence his journey from the gates of heaven towards our world down here, Baba would have whispered the same values in his ears, ones which I grew up learning from him. That, I am sure, will be his most valuable gift to his son on this Father’s day, on the beginning of his own fatherhood…

Rajvir’s smiles tell me, today may well be my best Fathers’ Day ever…

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats to you & Neha Mam & wishes of a life endowed with happiness, prosperity & great thoughts like yours… to Rajvir (good name!)

    Neha Kapoor

    June 15, 2014 at 8:18 PM

  2. Congratulations sir

    mohsin saifi

    June 15, 2014 at 10:28 PM

  3. Congratulations sir.

    ankit

    June 17, 2014 at 12:06 AM

  4. Congrats mate……

    Mitul Vora

    June 17, 2014 at 3:51 AM


Leave a Reply

