RRGwrites

On life…and learning

Must Read: When Your Mother Says She’s Fat…

leave a comment »

When Your Mother Says She’s Fat

:By Kasey Edwards

Dear Mum,

I was seven when I discovered that you were fat, ugly and horrible. Up until that point I had believed that you were beautiful — in every sense of the word. I remember flicking through old photo albums and staring at pictures of you standing on the deck of a boat. Your white strapless bathing suit looked so glamorous, just like a movie star. Whenever I had the chance I’d pull out that wondrous white bathing suit hidden in your bottom drawer and imagine a time when I’d be big enough to wear it; when I’d be like you.

But all of that changed when, one night, we were dressed up for a party and you said to me, ‘‘Look at you, so thin, beautiful and lovely. And look at me, fat, ugly and horrible.’’

CONTD…

What you read above is an excerpt from Dear Mum: a collection of letters, from Australian sporting stars, musicians, models, cooks and authors, revealing what they would like to say to their mothers before it’s too late, or would have said if only they’d had the chance.

To read the full article, please click here…

As I read this, I could not help but share with all of you.

I was deeply moved after reading this piece. Are you?

_________________________________________________________________________

With credit from: https://medium.com/human-parts/bf5111e68cc1

Leave a Reply

