RRGwrites

On life…and learning

My Learning From Alice In Wonderland…

with 4 comments

AliceRight since my childhood years, and even to date, I am deeply fascinated with Lewis Carroll’s legendary character – Alice. Immersed in her very own Wonderland, she always intrigued me – some of my finest learning of life comes from this book ‘meant for the children’! Carroll was a rather gifted man of diverse interests in logical reasoning, science, philosophy and mathematics; to my mind, his words have much deeper meaning than merely intending to be a children’s book. Celebrating ‘curiosity’ at every available opportunity, Alice is a truly timeless character and some of her words occupy my thought process to date; I have found them really useful every time I have read them. Sharing seven of them with you:

  • “But”, said Alice, “the world has absolutely no sense, who’s stopping us from inventing one?”
  • Alice laughed, “There’s no use trying,” she said, “one can’t believe impossible things.” “I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
  • “Do you think I’ve gone round the bend?” 
    “I’m afraid so. You’re mad, bonkers, completely off your head. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”
  • “If everybody minded their own business… the world would go round a deal faster than it does.”
  • “You should learn not to make personal remarks,” Alice said with some severity; “it’s very rude.”
  • “Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
    “That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,”
    said the Cat.
    “I don’t much care where…” said Alice.
    “Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,”
    said the Cat.
  • “Tut, tut, child!” said the Duchess. “Everything’s got a moral, if only you can find it.”

Through the words of wisdom above, Alice leaves an indelible impression on the mind, shaping character, instilling values like power of imagination, trying & risk-taking, finding sense amidst chaos, managing self and that nothing is impossible. All through, she tries to interpret everything around her in a logical manner, and you’d often note the conflict between her desire to be mature, rational & grow up and her natural ingenuous whims; a skirmish that most of us adults face almost daily in our lives.

Now that you’ve looked closer, don’t you agree with some of the deeper messages Alice delivers to us adults too, specially in the chaos of the corporate world?

__________________________________

Photo-credit: weheartit.com

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love that one from the Cheshire cat.

    beeseeker

    March 14, 2013 at 4:39 AM

  2. Alice in Wonderland. One of my personal favouries, first time read at the age of 11. Back then it was just a wonderland story, with funny characters.
    Ofcourse, the meaning and insights grew deeper over years and my all time favourite is what the cheshire cat says.

    So here is what is believed of this tale, and this is interesting- every time you read it your perspective is deeper and its only when anyone can finally read this story and accept it as a just a story,(as one would have as a innocent child) wisdom has finally prevailed, because by then the individual has learnt the important lesson of acceptance 🙂

    Yasmeen

    March 15, 2013 at 5:34 PM

    • You have taken the meaning to an altogether new high and I can’t agree with you more! Thanks!

      RRGwrites

      March 15, 2013 at 11:55 PM


Leave a Reply

