RRGwrites

On life…and learning

Words Have Power…

with 2 comments

The-power-of-wordsWords have power. They do. And it has been some good time since I realized this. Over a period of years, I have developed a habit of using words to my advantage, albeit in a different manner than merely communicating. I pick every year some words of wisdom and make them my goal-sheet for next twelve months, and even beyond. Sometimes they are quotes, sometimes proverbs, or even stories…they all guide me. Depending on my own needs of personal & people leadership, self-improvement and focus, these words help me stay determined on my chosen path of the year.

Here are my 12 guiding quotes for 2013:

  • “Small details make for perfection, and perfection isn’t small.”

 – Aditya Vikram Birla, visionary Indian entrepreneur

  • “Lost yesterday, sometime between sunrise and sunset, two golden hours; each set with sixty diamonds minutes. No reward is offered, for they are gone forever.”

– Horace Mann, American education reformer

  • “I don’t have to attend every argument I’m invited to.”

– Author Unknown

  • “As you climb up the corporate ladder, be wary of the trap, where, as a professional nobody could touch you, but as a person, nobody would touch you.”

 – Prof. Dipak Jain, Kellogg’s School of Business

  • “You cannot be really first-rate at your work, if your work is all you are.”

 – Anna Quindlen, Pulitzer Prize winning American journalist 

  • “There is too much said for the sake of argument and too little said for the sake of agreement.”

– Author Unknown

  • “The peacock must not be replaced as the national bird by the ostrich.”

– Nani Palkhivala, legendary Indian lawyer and statesman

  • “I never could have done what I have done, without the habits of punctuality, order, and diligence, without the determination to concentrate myself on one object at a time.”

– Charles Dickens, in David Copperfield

  • “I desire so to conduct the affairs of this administration that if at the end, when I come to lay down the reins of power, I have lost every every other friend on earth, I shall at least have one friend left, and that friend shall be down inside me.”

– Abraham Lincoln

  • “The way a team plays as a whole determines its success. You may have the greatest bunch of individual stars in the world, but if they don’t play together, the club won’t be worth a dime.”

– Babe Ruth, the all time baseball great

  • “न दैन्यम, न पलायनम।” (No misery, no running away)

 – Bhagvad Gita

  • “मालिक को मालिक बने रहने के लिए नौकरों से ज़्यादा काम करना चाहिए।” (The owner of the enterprise must work harder than his employees in order to remain the owner…)

– Balraj Sahni, Hindi Film Great, in a movie dialogue

__________________________________________

Photo-credit: holistichealthandme.com

Written by RRGwrites

January 21, 2013 at 10:49 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good One !!

    Shashikant Singh

    January 22, 2013 at 7:56 AM

  2. […] right, say it hot’ mindset, I wanted 2013 to be a better year. So, I took as one of my guiding principles/quotes of 2013 as – “I will not attend every argument I am invited to” (Author Unknown). I sat […]


Leave a Reply

